Saying sorry the kids’ way

This video is so cute! If someone says a sweet sorry like this, it would be difficult not to forgive! 🙂
I rarely hate people because for me if you don’t like someone, it is better to get rid of them from your sights and forget them. Done! your mind is clean and clear from negative things. But I don’t know why I really dislike people who don’t like to say sorry and I keep that bad memory about them very long :D!
I really think saying sorry is an art. While many adults are bad at it, children tend to be very good at that. Listening to this song reminded me of a sweet memory of a kid I adore. Long time ago, when I was a young student and stayed in an icelandic-american family where the single mother had three boys. I helped the mother to take care of the kids sometimes when she was away. I quickly became close to the little kid as he was somehow isolated by the elder brothers when the mother was not home. He told me everything about his school, the girls that liked him, his friends etc. He asked me to help him with homework and even asked me to correct his English, since he could speak well but could not write well yet. The 9 year old kid could play many good piano songs of which I liked the most “Morning Mood” by E.G and asked him to play that again and again. Once he went out to play with his friend and did not come home on time. The whole family tried to find him everywhere but could not find him even at his close friends’ or neighbours’ house. His mother taking a trip abroad was extremely worried when she got the phone call from me and tried to ask all the people who could know but failed to get traces of him. Finally he got home at 9 pm (he was supposed to get home at 6 and go to bed at 8 pm). I was so worried that when I saw him I almost cried both for happiness and anger. I strictly talked to him but then did not talk much during the time he ate alone in the kitchen as normal, only answered shortly what he asked. He knew that nothing he said could make me forgive him at that moment. He did not eat anymore but went to the piano and played the song “Morning Mood”. I was writing my thesis at the table nearby and heard the song. I went to the piano and saw him with a penitent smile saying “I am playing it because you like it”. My heart was immediately melt. I broke into a big smile… Of course I forgave him. It was easy to be convinced by a sweet and subtle boy:) …
Later I attended a talkshow where a psychologist told people that though he was considered an expert to read people’s mind and effectively respond to fix difficult situations, he had to call his little six year old son a master in the art of saying sorry to people. Everytime his mother got angry with him, he would rush to the mother, hug her and say again and again “I love you so much, mom”. The more the mother pushed him away, the more tightly he embraced her and said it sweetly “I love you very much, mom, don’t you love me?”. The mother finally had to surrender :).
I am not sure that could work when adults do the same but I believe when little kids do it with naive, innocent eyes looking at you, it is hard for anyone to constrain a “surrendering” smile and a warm feeling in their heart.
No one likes to be manipulated but sometimes being manipulated by a sweet sorry seems acceptable,…well actually I mean…lovely :)!

Leave a comment